Winner Henri Winkelman Award 2018

Willem de Kooning Academy
Tue 5 Jun

On Tuesday, June 5, 2018, the foundation Ondernemersbelangen Rotterdam has awarded the Henri Winkelman Award for the sixth time during the annual Creating Pioneers' Dinner. This exciting edition, organised by Willem de Kooning Academy (WdKA), has become once again an evening full of creative, innovative entrepreneurship and cooperation.

Seven alumni with seven companies had been nominated. Pioneer Nazif Lopulissa has received the Award  - a cheque worth € 10.000  -  for his artistic practice as Nasbami, from a professional jury, chaired by Emily Ansenk (director of Kunsthal).

Photography Bas Czerwinski

...a creative mind who is able to think out-of-the-box and is not discouraged by limitations

The jury was impressed by all participants and the winner in particular:

"Nazif was also a candidate for last year’s Henri Winkelman Award. With this new series of works, he shows that he has pursued a consistent development and continues to take important steps in this regard. He has realised a number of projects for cultural institutions such as the Van Gogh Museum, the Kunsthal and the Boijmans van Beuningen Museum. He is a creative mind who is able to think out-of-the-box and is not easily discouraged by limitations, but rather seeks out opportunities, tackles challenges and shows no fear. He is able not only to create his own market but also to continually expand it. Taking into account the development that Nazif has shown over the past year, the jury is looking forward to seeing where his art will have brought him five years from now!"

Read the complete 2018 jury report here (in Dutch and English).

The shortlist:

Niké Dolman
Nazif Lopulissa
Elise Marcus
Ermi van Oers
Forever Studio
Ontwerpstudio Vormlust
Studio Bureau

Jury panel Henri Winkelman Award 2018:

Emily Ansenk, executive director Kunsthal (Chair)

Marcus Vlaar, Creative Director and co-founder of &Ranj

Con Schoenmakers (Stichting Ondernemersbelangen Rotterdam)

Monique van der Salm (Secretary)

Photography Bas Czerwinski

Read more about Henri Winkelman Award here

Design Henri Winkelman Award 2018: Elmar Janse

Cesare Davolio & Robert-Jonathan Koeyers + Amnesty International

Willem de Kooning Academy
Check this out

The First Winner of the North Sea Jazz Poster Competition 2019

Willem de Kooning Academy
Check this out

Alumnus Remco Torenbosch in Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam

Willem de Kooning Academy
Check this out