Graduation Show 2022 Awards - Nominees

Thu 7 Jul


The Drempelprijs has been awarded annually since 1962 by the Municipality of Rotterdam (Gemeente Rotterdam) to one or more graduates of the Willem de Kooning Academy. Originally, the prize was awarded only to fine art graduates; since 1968 applied arts graduates have also been eligible. The prize is an incentive award, with a nice sum of money: € 5,000. In the WdKA’s  curriculum, the traditional distinction between fine art and applied work is no longer considered relevant. Since 2014, the Drempelprijs awarded to students within the three graduation profiles: Autonomous, Social and Commercial practices and the Honours Programme.

Drempelprijs ceremony has taken on Saturday July 16 17:00 at the Graduation Show. Click here for the Winners!

Nominees, Autonomous Practices

Transformation Design: Sam Oazzouz

DBKV: Yvonne Bronner & Simone van der Meer

Spatial Design: Stevie Kok

Audiovisual Design: Marte Bosma

Product Design: Monique Hanse

Product Design: Rink Schelling (2022 Winner)

Graphic Design: Florian Schuster

Fashion Design: Cassandre Storez

Illustration: Kees Proper

Advertising & Beyond: Nicole Spakman

Photography: Ashley Bruinhart (2022 Winner)

Photography: Chiara Pastoor

Fine Art: Mina Voigt

Fine Art: Bartosz Kos




Nominees, Commercial Practices

DBKV: Marcel de Jong, Lowieke de Vries en Leontine Brugmans

Graphic Design: Giang Huong Thi Nguyen

Fashion Design: Babs de Kock

Illustration: Lotte Prins

Advertising & Beyond: Sophie Schellens

Fine Art: Denise Hirtenfelder

Animation: Mark Schutte



Nominees, Social Practices

Transformation Design: Daphne Kusters

DBKV: Mira Taapken

Spatial Design: Frédérique van Tilborg

Photography: roze meike (2022 Winner)

Product Design: Lisa Vander Plaetse

Graphic Design: Carolina Cristallo

Fashion Design: Denzel Veerkamp

Illustration: Jasmijn Schoonen

Animation: Sanya Gurung

Nominees, Honours Programme

Audiovisual Design: Ciska Meister

Photography: Jasper van den Ende

Product Design: Pragya Jain

Graphic Design: Senka Milutinović (2022 Winner)

Fashion Design: Anna Jaël Vetulani 

Illustration: Anna Jastrzębska Yilmaz

Advertising & Beyond: Jannes van Arkel

Fine Art: Julia Wilhelm

Animation: Anej Golcar

Animation: Vincent Boon

Research Awards

The Willem de Kooning Research Award was established by the Willem de Kooning Foundation in 2015 to emphasise the central role of art and design research within the newly introduced curriculum.  The Willem de Kooning Research Awards are no prizes for just theses or research documents but for projects merging theory and practice where art or design work is a vital part of the research. The Awards are granted to Bachelor and Master graduation projects that combine theoretical and field research with artistic research and which provide new insights to broader audiences of experts and the public at large. Next to the prize money of € 1500, € 1000 and € 500 for Bachelor graduates and € 2000 for a Master graduate, one Bachelor and one Master project will also be honoured with a publication. These publications are not conventional research books or catalogues, but experimental publications to be developed within WdKA’s Hybrid Publishing Practices. The publication can take any form that is best suited to each project: electronic and print, performative, presentational.


The Research Awards ceremony will take place on Saturday July 16 17:00 at the Graduation Show.


Nominees Bachelor


Autonomous Practices

Critical Studies: Edith Dingeman

Digital Craft: Meeuwis Aalberts

Hacking: Rink Schelling

Public & Private: Sofie van Thiel

Commercial Practices

Data Design: Derrick Crichlow

Branding: Mark Schutte

New Frontiers: Denise Hirtenfelder

Social Practices: 

Cultural Diversity: roze meike (2022 Winner)

Cultural Diversity: Honey Simatupang

Powerplay: Hannah Kloosterman

Powerplay: Roosmarijn van Loon

        Honours Programme: 

Visual Culture: Ciska Meister

RASL minor: Oana Beatrice Popescu


Nominees Master

To be announced