NRC Charity Awards 2018 / Winners

Tue 28 Aug

The NRC Charity Awards were founded by NRC with an intention to aid charitable organisations in the Netherlands in reaching their target groups. More than 290 organisations have entered the contest by submitting a motivation. Based on these motivations NRC has selected 22 organisations to participate.

For the NRC Charity Awards, NRC collaborates with Willem de Kooning Academy, our (Advertising) students develop and design campaigns for the for the selected participants.

A professional jury consisting of Peter Vandermeersch, Pim Gerrits (Creative Director Lemz), Krista Rozema (Art Director KesselsKramer) and Susanne van Nierop (Editor-in-Chief Adformatie) assessed the 22 advertisements on design, use of images and the impact of the message. Vandermeersch: 'The four winners we selected as professional jury immediately drew visual attention.'

The winners:

On the 28th of August, Endometriosis Foundation has received the first prize of the NRC Charity Awards for the campaign created by Donja van der Stelt and Roxanne Enkelaar. The foundation supports women and young girls with menstrual complaints that are possibly related to endometriosis. "This advertisement has enormous stopping power," according to the expert jury chaired by NRC editor-in-chief Peter Vandermeersch. "The advertisement grasps your attention yet it does not scream."

The jury awarded the second place to three foundations: Stichting Lezen & Schrijven (Jarné van Zetten & Iris Habben Jansen), Plastic Soup Foundation (Sinead Maduro & Nicole Spakmanand), Voedselbanken Nederland (Sebastian Gudman, Scott Lennaerts, Jamal Ata, Max Kisman). Vier het Leven (Lode Dijkers & Arman Göngür) and Pax Kinderhulp (Marlou van Oss & Faye van de Vorst) received a prize in the online category for their banner.


Diabetes Fonds (Dyon Kaleuwee & Ersem Ercil) is the winner of the Public Award.


Both the jury and public prizes in the category consist of a double advertising page in both NRC Handelsblad and with a value of 50,300 euros gross media value. The first winner also receives an online campaign. The jury prize in the online category consists of an online campaign worth 15,000 euros.

View all the participating campaigns here.