Drempelprijs 2019, the Winners!

Willem de Kooning Academy
Sat 13 Jul

The Drempelprijs has been awarded annually since 1962 by the Municipality of Rotterdam (Gemeente Rotterdam) to one or more graduates of the Willem de Kooning Academy. Originally, the prize was awarded only to fine art graduates; since 1968 applied arts graduates have also been eligible. The prize is an incentive award, with a nice sum of money: € 5,000. In the WdKA’s curriculum, the traditional distinction between fine art and applied work is no longer considered relevant. Since 2014, the Drempelprijs is awarded to students within the three graduation profiles: Autonomous, Social and Commercial Practices. On Saturday, July 13th, the Drempelprijs Award ceremony took place at our auditorium.

And the Drempelprijs 2019 winners are:


Autonomous Practices:

Annemiek Höcker, Advertising

Project: ‘Your Smartphone Is Running on the Tears and Breast Milk of a Volcano’

Read the full jury report here.

Jury Autonomous Practices: Mitchell Esajas (The Black Archives), Jessy Koeiman (alumnus 2017, recent Curator Collective Learning @WdW), Wapke Feenstra (Visual Artist bij Wapke Feenstra) and Dirk Vis (WdKA) – non-voting secretary.

Commercial Practices

Chloe Severien, Fashion Design

Project: 'Infinite Re-usable Knitwear'

Read the full jury report here.

Jury Commercial Practices: Marina Toeters (Fashion Innovation expert, Karin Hillen (WdKA) - non-voting secretary, Janjoost Jullens (founder at Wolfpack), Rachid Naas (Creative and Executive Director RCHD)

Social Practices

Alona van Rosmalen, Fine Art

Project: 'Body of Knowledge ‘Complaint’

Read the full jury report here.

Jury Social Practices: Alex Furtado Melville (Curator Gemaal op Zuid and consultant at Studio Narrative) - chairman, Tabo Goudswaard (Studio Goudswaard), Boo van der Vlist (WdKA) - non-voting secretary, Emiliano Gandolfi (co-founder of Cohabitation Strategies).

Check out the Graduation Show 2019 programme.

Photography by Emma Wackers